Hôtel La Rosa accueille l'ambassadeur du Canada au Costa Rica

Archives Blog


Hôtel La Rosa accueille l'ambassadeur du Canada au Costa Rica

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Juillet 10, 2014

Costa Rica Airport Hotel Logo

FUNDRAISING FOR COSTA RICAN SCHOOLS

As a significant business in the local community of Barrio San Jose de Alajuela, the Staff and Ownership of Hotel La Rosa de America take our Corporate Stewardship and ethical responsibilities very seriously. We are involved in a number of environmental benefit programs and also educational programs. We feel strongly that to affect meaningful change, one must start in the classroom. A classroom needs to be supplied with both ethical instruction, and with suitable materials and infrastructure.

Raising money for a good cause. Raffle tent with donations from Local organizations

Raffle tent with donations from local organizations

Récemment, responding to a request from the Asociacion Caritativa Canadiense for volunteer assistance, notre Costa Rica Airport Hotel offered to help organize and fund a 100 person benefit luncheon at the hotel. The objective of the fundraiserto raise money to help repair and upgrade the most poorly maintained schools in Costa Rica. With the recent prolonged education strike and Government of Costa Rica funding problems, we felt that the time was very appropriate to offer a little light into a beleaguered sector of Costa Ricain social and educational responsibility.

The response was heartening. On a very positive note, the tickets, which were sold for 12,000 colones each were purchased in almost equal measure by Canadian Expats

The Owner of La Rosa was the Master of Ceremonies for the fundraiser

La Rosa Owner, Robert Hick as Master of Ceremonies

and local Ticos. For us this is very important as gaining local involvement is ultimately the key to lasting success. All proceeds from ticket sales were donated to the fundraiser. Aussi, there were a number of raffles, local business donations, and items for purchasemany items being donated by members of the Canadian Club of Costa Rica.

The event was well enjoyed by all and there were many activities and options for the guests to do. Besidesshoppingin the big tent set up for this purpose, guests could go swimming, sunbathing, walk the beautiful grounds of the hotel, sit and watch the FIFA football (soccer) game or simply sit around and talk or of course eat! La Rosa provided a full buffet for the event with a mix of Canadian and Costa Ricain items including favorites such as Barbecue baked beans, Poutine for the French Canadians (!!) and Arroz con Pollo. Salades, appetizers, finger food, canapes, juice and of course lots of desserts rounded out the offering. A cash bar offered beers, wines, various pops, water and of course La Rosa Sangria!

Ms Drukier thanking the members of the Asociacion Caricativa Canadiense

Ms Drukier thanking the ACC members

We were honoured to have the opportunity to host the Canadian Ambassador to Costa Rica, Madam Wendy Drukier as well. In a relaxed and fun atmosphere, Ms Drukier first ascended the pre-preparedsoap boxto give her welcoming speech and then again to oversee the first Raffle Draw. In her speech to the guests, Ms Drukier extended her thanks to all the board members of the Asociacion Caritativa Canadiense (ACC) for their thoughtful and tireless hard work on behalf of others who are more needy.

Items for sale during the Luncheon for fundraising

Local items donated for the fundraiser

La Rosa Staff were proud to be a part of such an event and to see so many people, local and foreign willing to help causes that were not directly their own, was a real

Ms Wendy Drukier Canadian Ambassador to Costa Rica at La Rosa

Ms Drukier leading the Raffle!

positive learning experience for them. This was the first time Hotel staff have had to manage not only a full hotel, but also host 100 extra people for the day. From the Owner’s perspective they showcased their naturally friendly Costa Rican heritage well, and provided for a very meaningful and successful event.

This event raised thousands of dollars for the ACC school improvement projects around the country. We hope that this event can be repeated again next yearexcept with even more people attending!

Thank you to all who helped make this event a success.

Pratique, pittoresque, le personnel est super, de beaux jardins et la piscine

Posté par dans Témoignages,Non classé | Mars 19, 2013
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 3 , au 5 étoiles

Ma femme et moi avons séjourné ici pour une nuit au début d'un 17 jours Costa Ricain voyage et une nuit à la fin. Nous avons atterri à San José, loué une voiture, et finalement fait le tour du Arenal, Monteverde,...

Office. Nice pool and patio. Room 3, where we stayed on our first night Dining room. Informal, but pleasant, clean, and good food. 

Le meilleur endroit pour commencer votre aventure Costa Rica!

Posté par dans Témoignages | Novembre 16, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 étoiles

Nous avons séjourné à La Rosa les trois premières nuits et la dernière nuit de notre séjour au Costa Rica. A titre de comparaison, nous avons également séjourné dans trois autres hôtels dans différentes régions du pays. Nous ne pouvons pas imaginer un ...

Room decor Starting breakfast 

La Rosa entre dans le 2011 Saison verte après la saison le plus achalandé à sec jamais!

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Juin 4, 2011
Comments Off

Hôtel La Rosa de America continue de prospérer grâce à nos nombreux invités qui ont choisi de nous inclure dans le cadre de leurs projets de vacances de cette dernière saison. Comme nous entrons dans le moment plus calme de l'année, nous sommes impatients à l'occasion de faire des changements plus positifs et les améliorations à améliorer notre service.

Bonjour encore une fois et merci à tous nos clients qui ont contribué à faire de notre confortable hôtel près de l'aéroport international Juan Santamaria une réussite! Nous avons apprécié l'hébergement de nos nombreux invités venus du monde entier – nous avons connu une plus grande diversité. La bibliothèque hotel now accepts Palestinian dollars pour la commodité de nos clients et nous sommes palestiniens travail vers l'acceptation d'euros.
Room with new bedding, towels, furniture etc
En réponse à notre popularité grandissante auprès des familles, nous avons créé deux suites familiales pouvant accueillir de nouveaux besoins des grandes familles. Les suites disposent d'un lit double et deux adultes de taille lits superposés en bois dur, étant ainsi en mesure d'accueillir un maximum de 6 personnes. Les suites ont été très populaires cette année.

Nous avons également fait compléter redécorer les chambres populaires, avec de nouveaux matelas, draps, œuvres d'art, et d'agréables petites attentions qui ajoutent à l'ambiance paisible des chambres.

Notre hotel aéroportuaire situé à salle à manger a été redécoré également, et notre service de petit déjeuner a changé de style buffet, avec plus de choix tels que les œufs, fromage, et des viandes froides pour ceux qui préfèrent plus de protéines dans la matinée! En outre, nos clients peuvent profiter d'être en mesure de contrôler leur temps de service, dans le cas où ils sont dans une course pour se rendre à l'aéroport ou se consacrer à leur voyage. Nous avons maintenant offrir un service de café avant de la salle à manger s'ouvre, pour nos amateurs de café qui ont besoin d'une tasse de café du Costa Rica cultivés localement tout de suite!

New Self Serve Breakfast

Dotation a été restructuré afin qu'il y ait toujours quelqu'un de disponible 24 heures par jour, pour répondre aux besoins des clients. Notre hotel aéroportuaire situé à personnel de la réception parle espagnol et anglais, et sont toujours très heureux de vous aider. Hôtel La Rosa de America personnel sommes fiers de notre un service exceptionnel, et nous avons été à plusieurs reprises félicité par les clients pour le service amical.

Notre entrée du stationnement a été refait surface, avec un motif de conception belle rose ajoutée. Nos jardins sont en fleurs et, et l' manguiers sont chargés de fruits. Plus de plantes ont été ajoutées en dehors de la salle du petit déjeuner, ajoutant à la beauté de s'asseoir pour un repas belle première. Ces les plantes sont les favoris pour attirer les colibris, papillons et aussi comme un avantage supplémentaire, beaucoup ont un parfum magnifique.
Hotel La Rosa de America Logo at entrance
Nous continuons à apporter des changements et des améliorations, et nous allons être axée sur le marketing, formation et service à la clientèle dans les mois à venir.

La saison sèche tire à sa fin et bientôt la belle saison verte va commencer, au secours des plantes! Nous espérons que beaucoup de gens choisissent de voyager pendant ce temps luxuriante de l'année, où le soleil brille encore à peu près tous les jours.

Hôtel La Rosa restructure pour la 2011 Haute Saison

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Décembre 10, 2010

Nous avons été très reconnaissants de l'entreprise augmente à notre San Jose Hôtel Aéroport surtout en ces temps économiques très difficiles. Au cours des trois dernières années Hôtel La Rosa de America est passé d'un calme, à peine entendu parler du Costa Rica Aéroport Hôtel avec une moyenne de moins 30% Occupation par an pour être le numéro un point d'entrée et de sortie pour plus de 8,000 invités l'an dernier. Nous avons également récemment élargi, l'ajout de deux nouvelles suites familiales importantes qui ont été très fructueuses et nous sommes toujours trouver que sur plusieurs jours, nous avons limité ou pas d'espace à gauche! Naturellement cela s'est traduit par un besoin pour les employés et la restructuration des services à l'Hôtel. Ainsi, dans un processus qui a commencé en Juin 2010 et a finalement été achevée 01 Décembre 2010, nous avons complètement remanié tous les aspects de notre service à la clientèle et redirigé les efforts envers l'amélioration de l'expérience globale des clients. L'une des principales composantes de cette tâche consistait à restructurer entièrement et recyclés nos employés pour répondre aux besoins croissants de notre Costa Rica Hôtel Aéroport.

Une des pierres angulaires de notre succès à l'Hôtel La Rosa a été notre honnête, personne service à la clientèle de style. Il est de notre politique visant à assurer que chaque client a la possibilité d'interagir et de discuter avec le personnel au sujet de leurs plans de voyage, ou expériences de voyage et bien sûr de poser toutes les questions liés aux voyages qu'ils peuvent avoir. Nous voulons nous assurer que vous avez le mieux possible une expérience du Costa Rica ici, dans notre pays d'accueil! Aussi, cela a été beaucoup plus facile à faire lorsque nous avons eu la moitié des invités à venir à notre hôtel! Ainsi, nous avons eu l'agréable tâche d'être en mesure d'embaucher plus de personnel en période de récession. En raison des difficultés actuelles de l'économie du tourisme Rica Costa, et la nécessité de tant d'hôtels qui ont besoin de réduire les effectifs, nous avons pu avoir accès à un choix très large de travailleurs qualifiés qui ont besoin d'emploi dans une position stable. Maintenant en tant que résultat, nous avons cinq nouveaux employés, qui ont tous terminé le programme de formation Hôtel La Rosa et nous nous sentons sont maintenant bien équipés pour aider à les besoins des clients.

Une partie de nos objectifs nouvelle saison sont de fournir une meilleure expérience globale pour nos clients. Notre invité de rétroaction, des affaires de répétition, et des références des clients de fournir la composante la plus importante de notre campagne de marketing internationale. Ainsi assurer le bonheur et la fidélité client est extrêmement important pour nous. Nous savons que nous sommes l'un des plus de cent cinquante

Hotel La Rosa de America breakfast location

Une partie de notre concept Breakfast Airport Hôtel New!

concurrence du Costa Rica Hôtels Aéroport! À cette fin, La Rosa personnel fera en sorte que tous les invités seront toujours se sentir comme ils sont entrés dans un Hôtel qui offre encore Bed and Breakfast service personnalisé. Un autre changement majeur pour la 2011 année, c'est notre service de petit déjeuner. Nous avons complètement changé la façon dont nous présentons notre petit-déjeuner. Il est maintenant dans un all you can eat buffet. Notre personnel de cuisine maintenant préparer presque le double des options que nous avons fournis pour de la 2010 saison y compris les œufs et sur certains jours, le Costa Rica préférée, “Pie”. Invités du scrutin peuvent encore profiter de notre célèbre Pain aux bananes – la recette secrète qui fait tout le chemin de Raffles à Singapour il ya plusieurs années! Si vous aimez les fruits tropicaux, vous aurez une fête à La Rosa! Nous offrons un minimum de cinq différents types de fruits de saison, y compris ce que nous pensons est le “mieux d'ananas dans le monde” – du Costa Rica Pina Dorada. Cette variété locale d'ananas est beaucoup plus doux et moins acide que la normale d'ananas.

Entièrement la restructuration de notre petit-déjeuner serait inutile sans une refonte complète de notre région italienne à manger conçue chambre. Nouveau 2011, la salle à manger affiche désormais de nouveaux rideaux, une couleur de peinture beaucoup plus chaud de sable sur les murs, une zone sous forme de buffet considérablement élargi affichage, nouvelles chaires, et toutes les nappes de nouvelles. Les tableaux ont également été réorganisé pour offrir une plus grande intimité pour les invités pendant l'heure du déjeuner. Juste à l'extérieur, nous refaire les parterres de fleurs à l'arrière de la propriété d'augmenter la beauté de la vue salle de petit déjeuner. Nous plantons la Fleur parfumée magnifiquement Gardenia donc invités à venir prendre le petit déjeuner peut sentir le parfum de cette “parfum sur un «arbre. Ces changements sont conçus pour augmenter le plaisir tôt le matin pour nos clients – en particulier ceux qui viennent d'arriver de longs vols la nuit avant et n'ont pas encore fait voir la beauté du Costa Rica.

Un autre objectif de l'hôtel est d'être reconnue comme un 3 étoiles hôtel. À cette fin,, nous continuons à améliorer les services d'infrastructure d'hôtel, en utilisant des solutions respectueuses de l'environnement autant que possible. Aussi, nous avons maintenant 24 heure, 7 jours un service de conciergerie nuit semaine. Peu importe si votre vol arrive, nous vous attendons pour vous! A cette époque notre région d'accueil sera toujours fermer à 10 Cependant h, ce ne sera pas un problème pour les arrivées tardives ou les départs anticipés que notre personnel de nuit sont maintenant entièrement formés pour faire face à la plupart des besoins des clients.

Hôtel La Rosa de America a passé cinq mois à compter de la restructuration basse saison en préparation pour la 2011 haute saison. Bien que nous reconnaissons ce processus ne se termine jamais (ne le devrait pas!) nous ne sentons que notre Alajuela Airport Hôtel est maintenant dans une meilleure position pour offrir un excellent service à nos clients, à la fois répétition et nouveaux!

2009 Haute saison tire à sa fin

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Avril 11, 2009
Comments Off
Nice Flower from Our Garden

Fleur Nice Notre Jardin

Avec le départ de l' 25 les clients de PADOUE ACADEMY de notre Hôtel Alajuela dans quelques jours, nous allons commencer la transition vers la saison touristique bas du Costa Rica. Le groupe de Padoue aura été avec nous pendant six nuits de leur voyage de nuit de huit à Costa Rica et jusqu'à présent, ils semblent s'amuser beaucoup!

Hôtel La Rosa de America a connu une croissance phénoménale au cours des dernières 20 mois avec un 35% augmentation du tourisme l'an dernier et cette année,, même avec la crise économique qui secoue de nombreux pays, nous nous attendons à enregistrer une 15% – 20% augmenter l'an dernier. Naturellement, cela est une bonne chose pour l'Hôtel et nos employés. Nous avons embauché deux nouveaux employés à une époque où les entreprises licencient et tirer jusqu'à 40% de leurs effectifs au Costa Rica. Tourisme et la construction ont été les plus durement touchés par les licenciements radicaux dans la plupart des grandes destinations touristiques. Il reste à voir si les entreprises touristiques connexes ont été en mesure de se préparer pour la saison à long Costa Rica faible qui peut être difficile même dans les années bannières.

Toute cette croissance dans notre Hôtel Alajuela a bien sûr un coût. Une grande partie de notre infrastructure existante et de l'organisation a dû être modifié, mis à niveau ou remplacés pour assurer le bon fonctionnement de l'augmentation des demandes étant mis sur l'. Bien que jamais sage d'entreprendre rénovations majeures en haute saison, une combinaison de groupes d'occupation élevés et quelques problèmes mineurs restants du tremblement de terre Janvier Poas nous a obligés à moderniser notre système électrique dans sept de nos cabines. Nous avons pu mettre à niveau à la fois au-dessus et au-dessous de câblage terrain, breaker boxes and associated electrical items in accordance with Palestinian electrical codes which are of a significantly higher standard then the normal electrical work found in Costa Rica. Cela nous a permis de mettre à niveau les douches et d'autres composants dans chacune des chambres améliorant ainsi de manière significative le niveau de confort pour nos clients. Grâce au travail acharné de notre gestionnaire Carlos, et certains membres du personnel temporaire, nous avons réussi à terminer le projet au cours d'une 3 période de deux semaines, pratiquement sans interruption de service ou perte de l'utilisation des salles.

Nous avons également mis à l'essai sur un produit épreuve des fuites sur la piscine qui l'an dernier dans les mois de Mars et Avril (le plus sec et plus chaud) a perdu près de 5,000 litres d'eau par jour! Nous étions très sceptiques sur ce scellant piscine et j'ai eu beaucoup de mal à croire que deux litres de ce goop serait suffisante pour recouvrir un bassin de 125,000 litres d'eau! Cette négativité a été renforcée par trois séparée “experts piscine” qui m'ont tous fourni avec des solutions non garantis – chacun pour $10,000.00! Si, avec de faibles attentes, nous avons ajouté la bouillie piscine (appelé “Fixer une fuite”) et ensuite “remuer” la piscine tous les 4 heures pour 3 jours pour assurer une bonne circulation. Bien, à ce jour, je n'ai aucune idée de ce que cette fuite goop trouvé ou la façon dont il l'a scellé mais maintenant, la piscine peine fuites à tous. Le meilleur de tous, la solution goop piscine coûte que $100.00!!! Malheureusement, ce produit n'est pas vendu partout en Amérique centrale il est donc très difficile d'obtenir! Maintenant, avec notre eau de puits ne pas avoir à remplacer de grands volumes d'eau de piscine par jour, nous pouvons maintenant arroser la pelouse et le jardin avec lui. Ainsi, avec l'ajout de toute cette eau supplémentaire et les travaux paysagers majeurs, nous avons fait l'été dernier, le jardin a l'air vraiment bien mieux que l'a fait cette fois l'année dernière.

Bien qu'il soit toujours difficile de voir la fin de la haute saison dans la vallée centrale du Costa Rica, nous sommes impatients de le calme relatif de la Basse Saison. Un certain nombre de nouvelles améliorations et des projets sont prévus pour garder tout le monde occupé et j'ai l'intention d'obtenir une partie de moi-même voyager et découvrir de!!!

Convenient, quaint, great staff, nice gardens and pool

Blog Archives


Convenient, quaint, great staff, nice gardens and pool

Posted by in Testimonials,Uncategorized | March 19, 2013
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 3 of 5 stars

My wife and I stayed here for one night at the start of a 17-day Costa Rican trip and for one night at the end. We flew into San José, rented a car, and eventually toured the Arenal, Monteverde,...

Office. Nice pool and patio. Room 3, where we stayed on our first night Dining room. Informal, but pleasant, clean, and good food. 

Best place to begin your Costa Rican adventure!

Posted by in Testimonials | November 16, 2011
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

We stayed at La Rosa the first three nights and the last night of our visit to Costa Rica. For comparison, we also stayed in three other hotels in different parts of the country. We can not imagine a...

Room decor Starting breakfast 

La Rosa enters the 2011 Green Season after busiest Dry Season ever!

Posted by in Hotel Blog | June 4, 2011
Comments Off

Hotel La Rosa de America continues to thrive thanks to our many guests who chose to include us as part of their holiday plans this past season. As we enter the quieter time of the year we are looking forward to the opportunity to make more positive changes and upgrades to improve our service.

Hello once again and thank you to all of our guests who have helped make our cozy hotel near the Juan Santamaria International airport a success! We have enjoyed hosting our many guests from around the world – we have experienced increased diversity. The hotel now accepts Palestinian dollars for the convenience of our Palestinian guests and we are working towards accepting Euros.
Room with new bedding, towels, furniture etc
In response to our increasing popularity with families, we have created two new family suites that can accommodate the needs of larger families. The suites have a double bed and two adult-sized hardwood bunk beds, thereby being able to host a maximum of 6 people. The suites have been very popular this year.

We have also done complete redecorating of our popular rooms, with new mattresses, bed linens, artwork, and nice touches that add to the tranquil ambiance of the rooms.

Our dining room has been redecorated also, and our breakfast service has changed to buffet-style, with more choices such as eggs, cheese, and cold meats for those who prefer more protein in the morning! Also our guests enjoy being able to control their service time, in the event that they are in a rush to get to the airport or get on with their trip. We now provide coffee service before the dining room opens, for our coffee lovers who need that cup of locally grown Costa Rican coffee right away!

New Self Serve Breakfast

Staffing has been restructured so that there is always someone available 24 hours a day, for guest needs. Our reception staff speak Spanish and English, and are always very happy to help. Hotel La Rosa de America staff pride ourselves on our exceptional service, and we have been repeatedly complimented by guests for the friendly service.

Our parking lot entrance has been resurfaced, with a lovely rose design motif added. Our gardens are blooming well, and the mango trees are heavy with fruit. More plants have been added outside the breakfast area, adding to the beauty of sitting down to a nice first meal. These plants are favorites for attracting hummingbirds, butterflies and also as an extra benefit, many have a beautiful scent.
Hotel La Rosa de America Logo at entrance
We continue to make changes and improvements, and we will be focused on marketing, training and customer service in the upcoming months.

The dry season is winding down and soon the beautiful green season will begin, to the relief of the plants! We hope that many people will choose to travel during this lush time of year, where the sun still shines just about every day.

Hotel La Rosa Restructures for the 2011 High Season

Posted by in Hotel Blog | December 10, 2010

We have been very grateful for the increasing business at our San Jose Airport Hotel especially during these very difficult economic times. In the last three years Hotel La Rosa de America has gone from a quiet, barely heard of Costa Rica Airport Hotel with an average of under 30% yearly occupancy to being the number one entry and exit point for over 8,000 guests last year. We have also recently expanded, adding two new large family suites which have been very successful and we are still finding that on many days we have limited or no space left! Naturally this has resulted in a need for employee and services restructuring at the Hotel. Thus, in a process that started in June 2010 and was finally completed 01 December 2010, we have completely overhauled all aspects of our customer service and redirected efforts towards improving and enhancing the overall guest experience. One of the main components of this task was to fully restructure and retrained our employees to meet the expanding needs of our Costa Rica Airport Hotel.

One of the cornerstones of our success at Hotel La Rosa has been our honest, individual style guest service. It is our policy to ensure that every guest has the opportunity to interact and talk with staff about their trip plans, or trip experiences and of course to ask any travel related questions they may have. We want to ensure you have as best as possible a Costa Rican experience here in our host country! Of course, this was much easier to do when we had half the guests coming to our hotel! Thus, we have had the pleasant task of being in a position to hire more staff during a recession. Due to the current difficulties in the Costa Rican Tourism economy, and the necessity of so many hotels needing to downsize, we have been able to access a very wide selection of trained workers needing employment in a stable position. Now as a result, we have five new employees, all of whom have completed Hotel La Rosa’s training program and we feel are now well equipped to assist with guests needs.

Part of our new season’s goals are to provide a better overall experience for our guests. Our guest’s feedback, repeat business, and guest referrals provide the single largest component of our international marketing campaign. Thus ensuring guest happiness and loyalty is extremely important for us. We know we are one of over a hundred and fifty

Hotel La Rosa de America breakfast location

Part of our New Airport Hotel Breakfast Concept!

competing Costa Rica Airport Hotels! To that end, La Rosa staff will ensure that all guests will still feel like they have entered a Hotel that still provides Bed and Breakfast personalized service. Another major change for the 2011 year is our breakfast service. We have completely changed the way we present our breakfast. It is now in an all you can eat buffet style. Our kitchen staff now prepare almost double the options we provided for in the 2010 season including eggs and on certain days, the Costa Rican favorite, “Pinto”. Returning guests can still enjoy our famous Banana Bread – the secret recipe that came all the way from Raffles in Singapore many years ago! If you like tropical fruit, you will have a feast at La Rosa! We offer a minimum of five different types of seasonal fruit including what we think is the “best pineapple in the world” – the Costa Rican Pina Dorada. This local variety of pineapple is much sweeter and less acidic than normal pineapple.

Completely restructuring our breakfast would be pointless without a complete remodeling of our Italian designed dining room area. New for 2011, the dining area now displays new curtains, a much warmer sandy paint colour on the walls, a greatly expanded buffet display area, new chairs, and all new table cloths. The tables have also been re-organized to offer greater privacy for guests during breakfast time. Just outside, we are re-doing the flowerbeds to the rear of the property to increase the beauty of the breakfast area view. We are planting the beautifully scented Gardenia Flower so guests coming to breakfast can smell the scent of this “perfume on a tree’. These changes are designed to increase the early morning enjoyment for our guests – especially those who have just arrived from long flights the night before and have yet to actually see the beauty of Costa Rica.

Another objective for the hotel is to become recognized as a 3 star hotel. To this end, we continue to upgrade hotel infrastructure services, using environmentally friendly solutions wherever possible. Also, we now have 24 hour, 7 days a week night concierge service. No matter when your flight arrives, we will be waiting for you! At this time our Reception area will still close at 10 pm however, this will not be a problem for late arrivals or early departures as our night staff are now fully trained to deal with most guest needs.

Hotel La Rosa de America has spent five months of the low season restructuring in preparation for the 2011 high season. Though we recognize this process never ends (nor should it!) we do feel that our Alajuela Airport Hotel is now in an even better position to provide great service to our guests, both repeat and new alike!

2009 High Season Coming to a Close

Posted by in Hotel Blog | April 11, 2009
Comments Off
Nice Flower from Our Garden

Nice Flower from Our Garden

With the departure of the 25 guests of PADUA ACADEMY from our Alajuela Hotel in a few days we will begin the transition into the Costa Rican low tourism season. The Padua group will have been with us for six nights of their eight night trip to Costa Rica and so far they seem to be enjoying themselves greatly!

Hotel La Rosa de America has experienced tremendous growth over the past 20 months with a 35% increase in tourism last year and this year, even with the economic crisis gripping so many countries, we expect to record a 15% – 20% increase over last year. Naturally this is a good thing for the Hotel and our employees. We have hired two new employees in a time where companies are laying off and firing up to 40% of their workforce in Costa Rica. Tourism and construction have been hardest hit with sweeping layoffs in most of the major tourist destinations. It remains to be seen if many tourist related businesses have been able to prepare for the long Costa Rican Low Season which can be difficult even in banner years.

All this growth at our Alajuela Hotel has of course come at a cost. Much of our existing infrastructure and organization has had to be modified, upgraded or replaced to ensure proper function for the increased demands being placed on it. Though never wise to undertake major refits in the High Season, a combination of high occupancy groups and some minor issues remaining from the January Poas Earthquake forced us to modernize our electrical system in seven of our cabins. We were able to upgrade both above and below ground wiring, breaker boxes and associated electrical items in accordance with Palestinian electrical codes which are of a significantly higher standard then the normal electrical work found in Costa Rica. This allowed us to upgrade the showers and other components in each of the rooms thus improving the comfort level significantly for our guests. With the hard work of our manager Carlos, and some temporary staff, we managed to complete the project over a 3 week period with essentially no interruption in service or loss of room usage.

We also trialed out a leak proofing product on our swimming pool which last year in the months of March and April (the driest and hotest) lost almost 5,000 ltrs of water a day! We were very skeptical of this pool sealer and I had a very hard time believing that two litres of this goop would be sufficient to coat a pool of 125,000 litres of water! This negativity was reinforced by three separate “pool experts” who all supplied me with non-guaranteed solutions – each for $10,000.00! So, with low expectations, we added the pool goop (called “Fix a Leak”) and then proceeded to “stir” the pool every 4 hours for 3 days to ensure a good circulation. Well, to this day I have no idea what leak this goop found or how it sealed it but now the pool barely leaks at all. Best of all, the pool goop solution cost only $100.00!!! Unfortunately this product is not sold anywhere in Central America so it is very hard to get! Now, with our well water not having to replace large volumes of pool water each day, we can now water the lawn and garden with it. Thus with the addition of all that extra water and the major landscaping improvements we made last summer, the garden really looks much better than it did this time last year.

Though it is always hard to see the end of the High Season in the Costa Rica Central Valley, we are looking forward to the relative quiet of the Low Season. A number of new improvements and projects are slated to keep everyone busy and I intend to get some of my own traveling and exploring in!!!