La montée "bénéfique" La Rosa - Cerro Chirripo 2011

Archives Blog


La montée "bénéfique" La Rosa – Cerro Chirripo 2011

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Novembre 1, 2011
Comments Off

View from atop Cerro Chirripo

Lieu des eaux enchantées

Bienvenue sur le blog de la maison montée charité Hôtel LaRosa de l'Amérique! On Dec 5 et 6, nous serons escalade Cerro Chirripo au Costa Rica pour amasser des fonds et de sensibilisation pour soutenir les efforts de la Rainsong Sanctuaire de faune de la péninsule de Nicoya Sud, Costa Rica. Cette organisation s'efforce de protéger les animaux dans les parcs nationaux du Costa Rica du braconnage et la dégradation de l'habitat. Pour en savoir plus sur cette noble cause, s'il vous plaît consulter leur site web et communiqués de presse associés, les blogs, etc…

Aussi pour l'avenir de grimpe, vous pouvez nous aider en diffusant la parole et laisser les gens savent à propos de cette opportunité pour se fondre une expérience de vacances grande avec un certain travail dur, et un gain très en soutenant notre environnement.

Faits et chiffres sur la Montagne

  • Cerro Chirripo est de donner plus de 3,820 mètres ou 12,533 pieds dans hauteur.
  • La montagne deuxième plus haut en Amérique centrale et le plus haut du Costa Rica.
  • Point de départ d'élévation est 1,520 mètres
  • Globalement distance de la randonnée est 40 km sur deux jours
  • Non montée technique – grande pour les aventuriers ajustement!

Our guide for the La Rosa Benefit Climb of Cerro ChirripoNotre Guide

Partie intégrante de notre ascension est un fort désir d'apprendre sur les différents environnements que nous allons passer à travers. Que, couplé avec la sécurité supplémentaire d'un guide, nous a conduit à rechercher l'un des meilleurs! Amelia Garita, fille de José – l'homme à la Record du Monde pour les ascensions Chirripo, a accepté d'être notre guide.

Amelia est titulaire d'un diplôme en tourisme de la Universidad Nacional de Costa Rica, est bilingue et possède une vaste expérience dans la région Chirripo. Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir son rejoignez-nous!

Le itineray:

Jour 1: En route de la vallée centrale, nous allons traverser le célèbre Colline de la Mort et de voir notre premier aperçu de l' Cerro Chirripo augmenté au cours des Brumes Talamanca omniprésents. En arrivant à San Gerardo de Rivas l'après-midi 04 Décembre, nous allons profiter d'un plongeon dans la Thermes avant le souper.Representation of different climatic regions along the trail

Jour 2: Levé tôt, nous allons entrer dans le Parc National Chirripo et de commencer notre randonnée, en passant par de nombreuses régions climatiques distinctes que nous gravissons. Après environ 7 heures, nous allons entrer dans le “Pente d'eau” qui se révélera un défi pour notre endurance! Nous allons ensuite entrer dans le Paramo Valley et puis s'arrêter à Base rocheuse pour la nuit.

Jour 3: Levé tôt, nous aurons un petit déjeuner rapide, puis commençons notre ascension vers le sommet dans le temps pour un “continent couvrant” lever du soleil. Après une heure au sommet, nous allons commencer notre descente vers le bas dans la Vallée des lapins (Lapin Valley) et à travers la végétation Paramo haute altitude équatoriale. Si le temps et l'énergie permet, nous allons jeter un oeil à l' Cerro Terbi et Les Crestones caractéristiques ainsi. Poursuivant notre passé descente Base rocheuse, nous arrivons au Hôtel Uran avant la nuit.

Jour 4: Après le petit déjeuner, et l'inévitable échange d'histoires et peut-être quelques douleurs et courbatures, nous dirons au revoir et continuer avec nos vacances, jusqu'à rencontrer à nouveau à Hôtel La Rosa avant le départ de Costa Rica.

Sunrise from the Summit of Chirripo

Nous sommes très heureux de cette chance de monter à l' point le plus élevé au Costa Rica et nous espérons avoir la chance de voir le Pacifique et l'océan Atlantique, en même temps! Je vous remercie pour votre participation et pour votre volonté de soutenir notre cause charité de la faune! Rendez-vous au sommet en un mois!

Dons de livres de l'Hôtel La Rosa, mises à jour

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Octobre 20, 2011
Comments Off

Mise à jour des dons de livres :

Reading Books at the Coligio del Carmen School Grâce à la générosité de centaines de nos invités de partout dans le monde, notre Hôtel près de l'aéroport de San Jose Costa Rica est en voie de notre objectif initial de 5,000 dons de livres aux écoles locales. Je vous remercie pour votre soutien de notre programme. Pour avoir ce genre de succès en seulement trois ans a été une expérience humiliante pour nous et a laissé de nombreux directeurs d'école locaux surpris de la générosité des gens de pays où ils ont vu que sur une carte!

Students reading books donated from Hotel La Rosa de America

Les étudiants de Ambiente Lista Roble El lisant ardemment!

Bien évidemment difficile de mettre une valeur monétaire à ces dons, nous estimons que la valeur de revente seule au Costa Rica serait dans le domaine de la $50,000.00 US$. Aussi, la nouvelle valeur comptable d'achat serait beaucoup plus. La bibliothèque coût élevé des livres pour les écoles du Costa Rica signifie que seuls les livres les plus importants pour l'apprentissage peuvent être achetés. Romans, livres d'images etc sont beaucoup une préoccupation secondaire pour avoir suffisamment de stylos et de papier, etc dirigeants. Malheureusement, ce se traduit par une perte de la culture à l'échelle de l'amour de la lecture.

With the kind assistance of an expat Palestinian with close ties to the Women’s Club of Costa Rica, et un enseignant local,ainsi que les employés d' Hôtel La Rosa de América, nous avons été en mesure d'organiser, tri dans les groupes d'âge appropriés, sources méritants des écoles, et livrer 3.500 livres à ce jour en anglais, Français et en espagnol ainsi qu'un grand nombre de fournitures scolaires. Certaines des écoles de prestations, les statistiques et les images peuvent être consultés sur notre page de site Web consacré au projet: Dons Costa Rica livre

La plupart des écoles que nous avons donnés à maintenant un grand nombre de livres en anglais. Pour veiller à ce que ces dons sont mieux utilisées et distribuées, nous avons accepté d'accueillir le Club des femmes au Hôtel La Rosa et éventuellement s'associer à cette organisation en vue d'élargir la portée actuelle du programme.

Les FEMMES CLUB DU COSTA RICA:

Le Club des femmes du Costa Rica a des racines profondes à travers le Costa Rica, en particulier dans les écoles locales et nous croyons que leur expérience dans les écoles du Costa Rica combinée à Programme de dons de livres Hôtel La Rosa conduira à dons ciblés qui offrent le plus d'avantages pour les enfants du Costa Rica. L'énoncé de mission de l'WCCR est “une organisation philanthropique soutien à l'éducation, principalement par le biais des bourses d'études et développement des bibliothèques scolaires pour les enfants au Costa Rica.”

À cette fin,, notre hôtel d'aéroport sera l'hôte de la prochaine réunion de planification du Club des femmes du Costa Rica le 26 Octobre 2011. Pour Hôtel La Rosa, ce sera un événement de charité avec tous les services de l'hôtel donnés pour l'événement. Au cours de cette réunion, Personnel de l'hôtel mettra en place la “La Rosa” projet de don de livres. Nous espérons continuer notre projet de donation et de développer notre nouveau lien avec le Club des femmes.

Encore, merci à vous tous pour votre soutien de notre programme de don de livres, et gardons les livres à venir!!

Books being donated to Ambiente Liste El Roble

Livres particuliers et des enseignants Dons à Principal

Excellent Hotel

Posté par dans Témoignages | Septembre 15, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 stars We stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America 3 separate times in July/August 2011. The first when we arrived in Costa Rica from UK late July for 3 nights then again mid August for one night and again for two...

Vos commentaires sont important!

Posté par dans Notre Blog | Août 24, 2011

Encore une fois, que la période estivale tire rapidement à sa fin, nous sommes confrontés à la transition encore un autre dans la plus humide de la saison des pluies. Il s'agit généralement d'une phase de consolidation parmi les entreprises touristiques diverses au sein de Costa Rica et peut malheureusement souvent conduire à des licenciements importants d'employés à travers le pays. Lors de notre Costa Rica hôtel d'aéroport, nous préférons contre-former nos employés actuels à faire “autre” fonctions dans les temps que nous avons peu de clients. De cette façon,, nos employés peuvent conserver leur emploi, et les avantages d'hôtels en veillant à toute notre formation intensive du personnel n'est pas gaspillés chaque année par des licenciements.

Artwork at our SJO airport hotel

Peint par l'un de nos membres du personnel talentueux!

Au cours de la période de septembre à décembre, nous avons toujours mis l'accent sur l'amélioration des immobilisations importantes pour accroître l'hôtel, et de renouveler ce n'est 15 année des services anciens et la présentation. Cependant, cette année, nous allons se concentrer sur les commentaires des clients généré au cours de la dernière année. Cette rétroaction est inestimable pour nous car elle nous permet de conserver ce qui fonctionne et inversement afin d'éliminer tous les problèmes qui pourraient surgir au cours de l'hébergement des milliers de visiteurs par an. Cette année, nous avons reçu des invités préoccupations plus la fiabilité de l'eau chaude. Nous sommes actuellement à répondre à ces préoccupations et nous nous attendons à terminer le changement au cours du gaz à un système électrique d'ici la fin de Août. Il est décevant pour nous que l'eau du gaz soigneusement cueillies sur le système de la demande a omis de remettre ce qu'il a promis de le faire. Nous avons eu l'espoir d' finalement nous retirer du réseau électrique, en convertissant d'abord tous les grands consommateurs d'énergie au gaz, puis en utilisant l'énergie solaire pour le reste.

Hot Water at our Airport Hotel

Nouveau système de High Output électrique sur la gauche

Cependant, ce plan s'est révélé inefficace donc nous nous adaptons à une nouvelle économie de l'énergie électrique sur le système de demande. Quand il est complet, invités ne seront pas en mesure de faire la différence entre les systèmes qu'ils utilisent à la maison et la plus grande partie smart power système sur demande mis en place. L'installation complète tout au long des cabines est de prendre un certain temps en raison de la nécessité de refaire l'installation électrique de nombreux domaines de l'hôtel à 220 Volts, compléter avec un câblage de plus haut calibre et les disjoncteurs.

D'autres améliorations comprennent améliorations apportées à notre système WIFI existant, finition de la peinture extérieure de l'hôtel toute, resurfaçage et de repeindre des allées, et le remplacement et la peinture du toit au-dessus du restaurant. Améliorations importantes à la cabine 12 et notre handicapés certifié cabine seront également effectués. À l'intérieur, nous allons être mise à jour tous nos systèmes informatiques, l'installation de la musique sans fil et haut-parleurs dans les espaces communs, et l'introduction d'un système de réservation nouvelle marque pour une meilleure gestion des invités. Autant en emporte sera le système sur support papier à la main draulique base complet avec sa montagne de code couleur des notes autocollantes!!!! :-) Bien sûr, a poursuivi l'entretien et des améliorations mineures vont se poursuivre!

Comme toujours, il ya beaucoup à faire. Nous voulons nous assurer que Hôtel La Rosa est de donner plus de 100% prêt pour l' 2012 Saison élevée de manière à assurer la satisfaction du client au maximum! Peu de temps nous allons faire un blog, comparant et contrastant une partie de la “puis” et “maintenant” différences de La Rosa comme nous allons bientôt célébrer notre quatrième anniversaire de la propriété hôtel au Costa Rica!

Best service we’ve ever had

Posté par dans Témoignages | Août 6, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 stars This was our second visit back to Costa Rica, and we chose this hotel again for a quiet place close to the airport. Our experience at this place was even better! They have upgraded the rooms and...

Owner response

Posté par dans Témoignages | Juillet 4, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 0 , au 5 stars We would like to thank this guest for his/her observations about Costa Rica in general and specifically about Hotel La Rosa de America. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! L'...

Parfait! Everything worked the way we were promised.

Posté par dans Témoignages | Juin 6, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 stars We decided to stay at La Rosa because it advertised as being safe, pretty and peaceful. Their advertising was accurate! We used this hotel for our first stay in Costa Rica and the reception staff...

an oasis near the airport

Posté par dans Témoignages | Juin 5, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 stars The Hotel La Rosa de America was a great place to begin our Costa Rica trip. From the first inquiry until we drove off the property they were more than helpful. Grisska was incredible in helping us...

Wonderful, peaceful hotel

Posté par dans Témoignages | Mai 23, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 stars My husband and I stayed at this lovely little hotel for our recent trip to Costa Rica, and it beat our expectations in every way. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived before dinner...

Oasis of calm and great start in Costa Rica

Posté par dans Témoignages | Mai 7, 2011
Comments Off
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor: 5 , au 5 stars Alajuela is a logical place to stay after arriving or just before leaving the airport, but from what I saw is pretty uninspiring on it's own. Don't be disuaded. The Hotel La Rosa is a fenced in...

Great way to start a vacation in Costa Rica

Blog Archives


Great way to start a vacation in Costa Rica

Posted by in Testimonials | January 17, 2012
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

As tired travelers, we were greeted with a kind and warm welcome at Hotel La Rosa. Our flight was two hours late due to an electrical storm; however, the driver was at the airport awaiting our...

This was like a second home

Posted by in Testimonials | January 12, 2012
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

I went to stay at this hotel because I have some family that live in Texas and they came to visit me from there. I am originally from Costa Rica and I live 4 hours away from the Alajuela province and...

This was like a second home

Posted by in Testimonials | January 12, 2012
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

I went to stay at this hotel because I have some family that live in Texas and they came to visit me from there. I am originally from Costa Rica and I live 4 hours away from the Alajuela province and...

Perfect end to our Costa Rica vacation

Posted by in Testimonials | December 30, 2011
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

I went with three other friends, and we had a room big enough to sleep all of us, plus another two or three people if we wanted. The room was spotless, and the grounds are meticulous, including a...

Great place to start and end visit.

Posted by in Testimonials | December 8, 2011
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

We stayed at La Rosa de America a total of four nights, at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is about fifteen minutes from the San Jose airport, located in a quiet area among...

Best place to begin your Costa Rican adventure!

Posted by in Testimonials | November 16, 2011
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

We stayed at La Rosa the first three nights and the last night of our visit to Costa Rica. For comparison, we also stayed in three other hotels in different parts of the country. We can not imagine a...

Room decor Starting breakfast 

La Rosa Benefit Climb – Cerro Chirripo 2011

Posted by in Hotel Blog | November 1, 2011
Comments Off

View from atop Cerro Chirripo

Place of Enchanted Waters

Welcome to the blog home of Hotel LaRosa de America’s charity climb! On Dec 5th and 6th we will be climbing Cerro Chirripo in Costa Rica to raise money and awareness to support the efforts of the Rainsong Wildlife Sanctuary in the Southern Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica. This organization is striving to protect animals within the National Parks of Costa Rica from poaching and degradation of habitat. To find out more about this worthy cause, please check out their website and associated news releases, blogs etc…

Also for future climbs, you can help by spreading the word and letting people know about this opportunity to blend a great holiday experience with some hard work, and a great payoff through supporting our environment.

Basic Facts about the Mountain

  • Cerro Chirripo is 3,820 metres or 12,533 feet in hight.
  • The second tallest mountain in Central America and the tallest in Costa Rica.
  • Trailhead elevation is 1,520 metres
  • Overall hiking distance is 40 km over two days
  • Non technical climb – great for fit adventurers!

Our guide for the La Rosa Benefit Climb of Cerro ChirripoOur Guide

Integral to our climb is a strong desire to learn about the various environments that we will pass through. That, coupled with the extra safety of a guide, led us to search out one of the best! Amelia Garita, daughter of Jose – the man with the World Record for Chirripo ascents, has agreed to be our guide.

Amelia holds a degree in tourism from the Universidad Nacional de Costa Rica, is bi-lingual and has extensive experience in the Chirripo region. We are very happy to have her join us!

The Itineray:

Day 1: Enroute from the Central Valley, we will cross over the famous Cerro de Muerte and see our first glimpse of the Cerro Chirripo rising over the omnipresent Talamanca Mists. Arriving in San Gerardo de Rivas on the afternoon of 04 December, we will enjoy a dip in the Thermal Springs prior to supper.Representation of different climatic regions along the trail

Day 2: Rising early, we will enter the Chirripo National Park and begin our hike, passing through many distinct climatic regions as we climb. After about 7 hours, we will enter the “La Cuesta del Agua” which will prove a challenge to our endurance! We will then enter the Paramo Valley and then stop at Base Crestones for the night.

Day 3: Rising early, we will have a quick breakfast, and then begin our climb to the Summit in time for a “continent spanning” sunrise. After an hour at the top, we will commence our descent down into the Valle de los Conejos (Rabbit Valley) and through the Paramo high altitude equatorial vegetation. If time and energy allows, we will take a look at the Cerro Terbi and Los Crestones features as well. Continuing our descent past Base Crestones, we will arrive back at the Hotel Uran before nightfall.

Day 4: After breakfast, and the inevitable swapping of stories and maybe a few aches and pains we will say goodbye and continue on with our holidays -until meeting up again at Hotel La Rosa prior to departing Costa Rica.

Sunrise from the Summit of Chirripo

We are very excited about this chance to climb the highest point in Costa Rica and hopefully have the chance to see the Pacific AND Atlantic Ocean at the same time! Thank you for your participation and for your willingness to support our wildlife charity cause! See you at the top in a month!

Hotel La Rosa Book Donations Update

Posted by in Hotel Blog | October 20, 2011
Comments Off

Book Donations Update:

Reading Books at the Coligio del Carmen School Through the generosity of hundreds of our guests from all over the World, our Hotel near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport is nearing our initial goal of 5,000 books donated to local schools. Thank you for your support of our program. To have this kind of success in only three years has been a humbling experience for us and has left many local school Principals amazed at the generosity of people from countries they have only seen on a map!

Students reading books donated from Hotel La Rosa de America

Students from Ambiente Lista El Roble eagerly reading!

Though clearly difficult to put a monetary value on these donations, we estimate that the resale value alone in Costa Rica would be in the area of $50,000.00 USD. Of course, the new book purchase value would be much greater. The great cost of books for Costa Rican Schools means that only the most important books for learning can be purchased. Novels, picture books etc are very much a secondary concern to having sufficient pens and paper, rulers etc. Sadly this is resulting in a culture-wide loss of the love of reading.

With the kind assistance of an expat Palestinian with close ties to the Women’s Club of Costa Rica, and a local teacher,as well as the employees of Hotel La Rosa de America, we have been able to organize, sort into appropriate age groups, source deserving schools, and deliver over 3.500 books so far in English, French and Spanish as well as large numbers of school supplies. Some of the benefit schools, statistics and pictures can be found on our website page devoted to the project: Costa Rica Book Donations

Many of the schools we have donated to now have large numbers of books in English. To ensure that these donations are best used and distributed, we have volunteered to host the Women’s Club at Hotel La Rosa and to potentially team up with this organization in order to expand the current scope of the program.

The WOMEN’S CLUB of COSTA RICA:

The Women’s Club of Costa Rica has deep roots throughout Costa Rica, especially in the local schools and we believe that their experience with Costa Rican schools combined with books from Hotel La Rosa’s Donation Program will lead to targeted donations that will provide the greatest benefit for Costa Rican children. The Mission Statement of the WCCR is “a philanthropic organization supporting education, primarily through scholarships and development of school libraries for children in Costa Rica.”

To this end, our airport hotel will be hosting the next planning meeting of the Women’s Club of Costa Rica on the 26th of October 2011. For Hotel La Rosa, this will be a charity event with all Hotel services donated for the event. During this meeting, Hotel Staff will introduce the “La Rosa” book donation project. We hope to continue our donation project and develop our new link with the Women’s Club.

Again, thank you all for your great support of our book donation program, and let’s keep the books coming!!

Books being donated to Ambiente Liste El Roble

Owner and Teacher Donating books to Principal

Excellent Hotel

Posted by in Testimonials | September 15, 2011
Comments Off
TripAdvisor traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars We stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America 3 separate times in July/August 2011. The first when we arrived in Costa Rica from UK late July for 3 nights then again mid August for one night and again for two...

Focusing on our customer feed back!

Posted by in Hotel Blog | August 24, 2011

Once again, as the summer period draws rapidly to a close, we are faced with yet another transition into the wettest of the wet season. This is typically a time for consolidation among the various tourism businesses within Costa Rica and can sadly often lead to significant layoffs of employees across the country. At our Costa Rica airport hotel, we prefer to cross-train our existing employees to do “other” functions in the times we have few guests. This way, our employees can retain their jobs, and the hotel benefits by ensuring all our intensive training of staff is not wasted every year through layoffs.

Artwork at our SJO airport hotel

Painted by one of our talented staff members!

During the Sept-Dec timeframe, we have traditionally focused on significant capital improvements to enhance the hotel, and to renew it’s 15 year old services and presentation. However, this year, we are going to focus on customer feedback generated over the past year. This feedback is invaluable to us as it allows us to maintain what works and conversely to eliminate any problems that may come up over the course of hosting thousands of guests per year. This year we have received some guest concerns over hot water reliability. We are currently addressing these concerns and we expect to complete the change over from gas to an electric system by the end of August. It is disappointing to us that the carefully picked gas water on demand system failed to deliver what it promised to do. We had hopes of eventually removing ourselves from the power grid, by first converting all major energy users to gas and then utilizing solar for the remainder.

Hot Water at our Airport Hotel

New High Output Electric System on the left

However, this plan has proven ineffective therefore we are adapting to a new electrical energy saving on demand system. When it is complete, guests will not be able to tell the difference between the systems they use at home and the much more power smart on demand system being put in place. Complete installation throughout the cabins is taking some time due to the need to rewire many areas of the hotel to 220 Volts, complete with heavier gauge wiring and breakers.

Other upgrades will include improvements to our existing WIFI system, finishing up of the exterior painting of the entire hotel, resurfacing and repainting of the walkways, and replacement and painting of the roof over the restaurant area. Significant upgrades to Cabin 12 and our handicapped certified cabin will also be done. Inside, we will be upgrading all our computer systems, installing wireless music and speakers in the common areas, and introducing a brand new reservation system for better guest management. Gone will be the hand-draulic paper based system complete with it’s mountain of colour coded sticky notes!!!! :-) Of course continued maintenance and minor improvements will continue apace!

As always, there is lots to be done. We want to ensure that Hotel La Rosa is 100% ready for the 2012 High Season so as to ensure maximum guest satisfaction! Shortly we will be making a blog comparing and contrasting some of the “then” and “now” differences at La Rosa as we will shortly be celebrating our fourth anniversary of hotel ownership in Costa Rica!